AmericanHort selects 2014 HortScholars

May 19, 2014 -  By

AmericanHort-Logo_469AmericanHort selected six students to serve as the year’s HortScholars, whom include:

  • Marie Arnold, The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute;
  • Nicholas Flax, Iowa State University;
  • Jessica Kivett, Kansas State University;
  • Justin Kondrat, Cornell University;
  • Katie Nickolaus, Michigan State University; and
  • James Sacco, University of Massachusetts Amherst.

The goal of the HortScholars program is to provide six students with a professional development experience in horticulture that increases their knowledge, industry awareness and career enthusiasm through its education and networking opportunities. It is open to undergraduate and graduate students attending two- and four-year colleges and universities in the U.S. who are majoring in horticulture or a related field and have a minimum GPA of 3.0.

In addition to a complimentary one-year AmericanHort membership, HortScholars attend Cultivate’14, held July 12-15 in Columbus, Ohio, where they will receive complimentary Cultivate registration, lodging and meals.

At Cultivate’14, HortScholars will assist the Generation Next Community with events, conduct presentations that share their insight into industry issues, attend the exhibitions and educational sessions, meet with industry mentors and network at various social events.

For more details on this year’s HortScholars, visit

LM Staff

About the Author:

Comments are currently closed.