ISA recognizes select individual’s accomplishments

August 13, 2013 -  By

The International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) has bestowed high honors on a select group of arborists, educators, researchers and business owners as part of the 2013 Awards of Distinction program, sponsored by Bartlett Tree Experts.

“Each year, we recognize the incredibly talented individuals who embody what ISA is all about—sharing the best practices and ideals of arboriculture,” said Terrence Flanagan, ISA president. “These winners challenge and inspire us with their accomplishments and provide us with important information which benefits the future of our industry.”

The awards—offered in ten categories—were presented to eleven winners in a special ceremony on Aug. 4, at the 89th annual ISA Conference I Trade Show in Toronto. The 2013 Award of Distinction winners include:

  • Gregory Daniels — Award of Merit (Stamford, Conn.)
  • Dr. Mark Johnston — Alex. L. Shigo Award for Excellence in Arboricultural Education (Preston, England)
  • James Urban — Award of Achievement (Annapolis, Md.)
  • Terrill Collier — Honorary Life Membership (Clackamas, Ore.)
  • Dr. Daniel Herms — R. W. Harris Author’s Citation (Wooster, Ohio)
  • Dr. Cecil Konijnendijk — L.C. Chadwick Award for Arboricultural Research (Frederiksberg, Denmark)
  • Mark Chisholm— Millard F. Blair Exceptional Contribution to Practical Arboriculture Award (Jackson, N.J.)
  • Peter Gerstenberger — Millard F. Blair Exceptional Contribution to Practical Arboriculture Award (Londonderry, N.H.)
  • Dr. Bryant Scharenbroch — Early-Career Scientist Award (Lisle, Ill.)
  • David and Jared Milarch — Honorary Membership (Copemish, Mich.)

Also recognized were five arborists selected from a global pool of applicants for their  commitment and professionalism in tree care have been chosen as “True Professionals of Arboriculture” for 2013 by the ISA. This year’s class includes:

  • Terrill Collier (Clackamas, Ore.)
  • Richard Herfurth (Lyndeborough, N.H.)
  • Scott Liudahl (Fargo, N.D.)
  • James McCready (Carleton Place, Ontario)
  • Edward Milhous (Haymarket, Va.)


LM Staff

About the Author:

Comments are currently closed.