OPEI names officers, board of directors

August 1, 2016 -  By

OPEI_logoThe Outdoor Power Equipment Institute (OPEI) announced its 2016-2017 officers and board of directors. The officers and new board members were elected during the OPEI Annual Meeting, which was held June 21-23 in Asheville, N.C.

Officers for 2016-2017 are:

  • OPEI Chair—Tim Merrett, vice president, Global Platform Turf & Utility, Deere & Co.;
  • OPEI Vice Chair—Daniel Ariens, chairman & CEO, Ariens Co.;
  • OPEI Secretary/Treasurer—Tom Cromwell, Group President, Power, Kohler; and
  • Immediate Past Chair—Lee Sowell, President of Outdoor Products, Techtronic Industries.

“I am honored to be selected as chair. We are addressing new challenges as our industry grows,” said Merrett. “We continue to build appreciation for the value and benefits of living landscapes and work to represent our members and their interests. We are also looking forward to our largest GIE+EXPO ever.”

This year’s new directors are Stihl President Bjoern Fischer and Husqvarna Consumer Brands President Jeff Hohler.

The following industry members will continue to serve on the OPEI Board of Directors:

  • Tim Dorsey—president, Echo;
  • Tom Duncan—president & CEO, Positec USA;
  • Edward B. Cohen—vice president, Government & Industry Relations, American Honda Motor Co.;
  • Marc J. Dufour—president & CEO, Club Car;
  • Peter Hampton—president, Active Exhaust;
  • Jean Hlay—president & COO, MTD Products;
  • Paul Mullet—president & CEO, Excel Industries
  • Rick Olson—president & Chief Operating Officer, The Toro Company;
  • Todd Teske—chairman, president & CEO,  Briggs and Stratton; and
  • David Withers—president, Jacobsen.

Update: This post was updated to include Paul Mullet on the list of industry members who will continue to serve on the OPEI Board of Directors. 

LM Staff

About the Author:

Comments are currently closed.