OPEI names officers, board


The Outdoor Power Equipment Institute (OPEI) named its 2013-2014 officers and board of directors at the OPEI Annual Meeting in Williamsburg, Va., June 18-20.

Officers for the 2013-2014 year include:

  • OPEI Chairman Todd Teske, chairman, president and CEO, Briggs & Stratton Corp.;
  • OPEI Vice Chair Paul Mullet, president, Excel Industries; and
  • OPEI Secretary/Treasurer Lee Sowell, president – outdoor products, Techtronic Industries, N.A.

“OPEI is entering this new fiscal year stronger than ever, both organizationally and financially,” said Kris Kiser, president and CEO of OPEI. “The OPEI Board reflects the impressive scope and breadth of our membership. Our membership is at a record high, representing small engine manufacturers with a range of power sources, utility vehicle manufacturers, and a myriad of small engine equipment manufacturers and suppliers serving a broad range of industries and uses.”

Continuing their service on the OPEI board are:

  • Immediate Past Chairman Daniel Ariens, president and CEO, Ariens Co.;
  • Marc Dufour, president, Club Car;
  • Peter Hampton, president, Active Exhaust Corp.;
  • Jean Hlay, president and COO, MTD Products;
  • Steven Bly, executive vice president, Echo;
  • Ed Cohen, vice president, government & industry relations, Honda North America;
  • Michael Hoffman, chairman and CEO, The Toro Co.;
  • Tim Merrett, vice president, AT&T Global Platform Turf & Utility, Deere & Co.; and
  • Fred Whyte, president, Stihl.

New to the board this year are Tom Cromwell, president, Kohler Engines, Kohler Co. and John Cunningham, president, consumer products group, Stanley Black & Decker.

To top
Skip to content